A charity in Bristol is opening a museum in one of the city’s oldest buildings that was once home to thousands of orphans.
The George Muller Charitable Trust, otherwise known as Mullers, has relocated to an orphanage George Muller himself built in the 1800s.
The building on College Road, which was launched in 1857, was the second orphanage opened by Muller before being sold to Bristol City Council in the 1950s.
As well as offering office space for the local charity, the ‘Loft House’ will become home to a museum showcasing the history of orphans in Bristol more than 150 years ago.
There will be the opportunity to learn more about Muller’s faith-based work with orphans during the 19th Century through interactive exhibitions, such as videos, costumes and question cubes, as well as by looking at original artefacts in display cabinets from the Victorian era.
Speaking to Bristol Post, the chief executive of Muller Trust Dan Doherty said: “The move back to our original orphan home is a great opportunity to re-inspire the people of Bristol with the story of one of our city’s most amazing historical leaders – and to re-launch our ambitious vision to bring Christian hope and wholeness to children and young people both locally and globally.”
The museum will include a genealogy room to enable visitors to research their family history. They will also be able to look at the original archive of the 17,500 orphans who were admitted and dismissed at the orphanages.
George Muller’s study has also been recreated, including his books, clock, annotated Bible and original desk.
While the museum will remain closed throughout August, it will open to the public on September 11th.